Japan Study Abroad: Post Thirteen

It is exciting to see the imagination of a man who’s been creating a whole other world for decades come to life in a completely different light with the advancement of technology at play.

Hello again! Thanks for joining us for our thirteenth blog post in Japan! Today was such an interesting day of discovering the inner workings of a famous Japanese artist. This man was Fujiko Fujio, and he’s the mastermind behind the popular children’s cartoon Doraemon. 

This museum was so much more than just displaying cartoon works. I had never before watched Doraemon, so I did not know what to expect going in. If you are also unfamiliar, Doraemon is a robotic cat sent from the future who makes friends with a hopeless boy. Doraemon always comes to the rescue with his numerous resourceful contraptions, quite a few of which I had at my disposal (memory bread anyone?)

Going beyond what the show is, I found myself absorbing as much as I could about this artist. As I made my way through the museum with my earpiece explaining everything to me, I realized how enticed I was with his art style. Fujio primarily worked with watercolors, and his lines were very precise. I really tried to study how he placed everything, as I want to improve as a sketch artist. Moreover, the way he blended his colors so quickly sent me into oblivion, because his gradients were so smooth. The content of his work is very sweet as well. It seemed to definitely be targeted towards children, but I still found great enjoyment in the types of themes one could find in his work.

My favorite theme that he worked with that is being continued even today is the idea of time travel. It seemed that Fujio was much deeper than basic kid entertainment. He incorporated ideas of anthropology and existentialism by assessing what Japan could have been like back in the paleo days. The scenarios that the main characters ended up in was actually pretty interesting; they included the likes of early human interaction and extinct animals with Latin-rooted names. Furthermore, I had read a blurb by Fujio about what inspired him to do these sorts of themes, and he explained how fascinated he was by the common ancestor all humans have, and the fact that we all share a common strand of DNA, thereby making us interconnected as brothers and sisters of Earth. After reading this, I myself was inspired to create something that reached further into the depths of my imagination. Also, a new Doraemon movie has come out this very year, no less! It is exciting to see the imagination of a man who’s been creating a whole other world for decades come to life in a completely different light with the advancement of technology at play. All in all, this day was indeed an engaging surprise for me.

Fujiko Fujio Anime Museum

Leave a Reply

